First Grow: Single Outdoor Pot, 2023

catkins

420 Member
Hi! I'm making this thread to document my first growing experience. Around 3 weeks ago I was unexpectedly offered a clone from a local outdoor grower, by someone without much other information about it - so I assume it's suited to the local climate, but that's all I know for now. I have little to no gardening experience, but I got attached and I really want to keep her alive! So with that in mind, I thought it would be wise to get some more eyes on her.

I'm in Atlantic Canada, which means this grow is legal, but the weather can be rocky (there were still overnight frosts at the end of May, and we can get some very strong storms in late summer/early fall). I don't have a lot of funds or space, so I wanted to take a relatively laid-back approach to this one, but obviously without being neglectful. I plan to keep her potted, but leave her outside as much as the weather allows.

Here's a summary of events so far:

June 7
I received the clone in a small plastic pot. Beautiful dark leaves, a bit dry and damaged in places, I'm guessing from transportation/storage. Also, flowers! I wasn't sure why or what to do about it, it's very early, but I researched and came to the conclusion that with enough light, they should reveg on their own time. So I decided to basically ignore that part for the time being and let the sun do its thing.

pic1.jpg

June 8
I felt like I should get her into a better container ASAP, so after some research I went and picked up what I could get at my local Canadian Tire: a 2.5-litre-ish "eco pot" (recycled/biodegradable materials, seemed like the most breathable option available); this potting soil (promix was sold out, and the only other option was miracle gro); and a few basic tools. I also grabbed this nutrient mix, because I felt like it was a good idea to have something nutritious on hand.

pic2.jpg