My HPS smelt of smoke and turned off? Euro reflector wiring burnt?

hazeluv69

Hey I’ve got a 600w digital ballast with a 600 boost lamp & it just started smelling and turntable off, purchased numerous bulbs they just flash and don’t come on and now realised the euro reflected has a burnt out wire? How could this have been caused and does this mean I just have to buy a new euro reflected or whole light kit?

4B2918D0-C0BB-4A31-9A6E-57811F0F38C7.jpeg

It might take a day or two before someone notices your question.

I am not an electrician but if it smells like burned wiring and if every bulb you put in flashes and stops working then I would think that there is a serious problem.

You could consider taking it back to the store and asking them if the light and reflector can be fixed.

lol really impatient ain’t i ! Need to know what I have to buy & I bought it from another town over a year ago & it seems to me to be the euro reflector/ hood as I can see and attached loose wiring with black all over it. However another hydro shop where I purchased bulbs from have said to bring my equipment and they will run a test. I’m 90% certain it’s the reflector as the wiring . Just didn’t want to go buy a new reflector and it doesn’t work again fs

Sounds like the best course of action.

They should be able to tell you if the problem is just a wire that burned through because of a loose connection. Or, maybe one of the parts went bad and caused an overload which burned the wire. Taking it to the store means that you might have the light and reflector back home and working like new.

Let us know what they found and whether they were able to fix it. That will help out someone who might have a similar problem.

Sounds like the best course of action.