Newbie Ebb'r experiencing dismal results

OneEyedWilly

420 Member
I have a 60cmX120cmX200cm grow tent that I've been soiling for the past 2 years with moderate results.

I decided to try hydro'ing as I've heard you can get better/larger fruits of labor.

Now, getting to the point of FIRST WATERING, I made some stupid mistakes.

Mistake#1) I took 10 klippings off my mothers just before going to a 12/12 routine and grew them in an aeroponics container, for over 2 months, as my tent was flowering for 2 months and then I use my tent to cure my harvest for 10 days. At about 65 days, some of the clones started to wilt even though I had replaced the water, recalibrating it to 6.4pH and 800ppm about every 3-4 weeks. By the time my previous harvest had cured, only 4 clones remained showing brownness/decay where the round rubber "holder" gripped the clones, and about 30% of the leaves being more than 50% yellow.

Mistake#2) I set up my new Ebb&Flow system, filled it with the SAME NUTRIENTS I used when soiling, measured the pH to 6.5, making sure they had extra Ca&Mg, transferred my plants into the buckets surrounded by clay pellets...and then switched it on...Mistake#2...I should've waited a few hours after switching the system on for it to acclimate before doing the pH&ppm measurements.

Mistake#3) Trying to "chase" the cart instead of being in front of the cart...FROM THE WRONG ROOM. After switching the pump on, the pH took a nose dive into the 5's. I attempted to correct this by adding pH+...TO THE WATER THAT WAS BEING PUMPED TO THE PLANTS. This caused a basic/acid swing directly being watered to the clones and I'm sure they were not the better for that.