Need some help managing nute burn in DWC

stonedboss

Ok so I started off this burn by doing dumb things- not monitoring ppm, and I let it jump from 1200 to 1800. This is with using lotus nutes. I also use powersi, slf-100 and orca, with a small bit of great white.

I lowered it back to 1400, but figured since they didn't burn at 1800 I should be good. But later I got the first burnt tips and curling down, showing nitrogen toxicity.

Replaced res, lowered to 900ppm. Didn't keep burning but kept showing curled down leaf tips. I lowered ppm to 800, still looked rough, so a few days later I did a full swap, from lotus nutes to GH flora series, 525ppm with calmag. Next day it rose to 575 ppm, with .5-1gal water being drank.

Now the burning is progressing, the leaves still look shit, and I reduced ppm even further to 425 last night. Staying at 425 this morning (after it's entire light cycle)

Hopefully someone else jumps in as I am a newbie and currently using super soil because I didn't want to deal with nutes on my first grow. This response is from research done, not personal experience. Are you watering until run-off? Nutes are delivered by salts. If you don't water until run-off the salts will keep accumulating. You may want to check the ppm from your run-off water. If it's too high, and you are using soil, keep flushing your plant with plain water until the ppm in your run-off water is in the range you want (I can't remember where the ppm should be).

If using coco you should flush your plants with nutes in the water because the coco needs nutes too....especially calmeg. Even though you have nutes in the water by watering until you have run-off you will still remove the salt buildup from the nutes.

Also, I don't think you're supposed to add nutes every time you water, but you should probably do some independent study on that because I am not 100% sure.