Need Help with Auto Moby Dick XXL

frozenring

I am fairly new to growing but not a absolute beginner. I have planted one Auto Moby Dick XXL and the seedling came out with 4 leaves and everything was fine.

Now these leaves started developing yellow patches and I think it is nute burn. But I am using organic neem based fertilizer on coco peat and small stones (don't have access to perlite yet) as growing medium. Used fertilizer only after 4 seedlings leaves came out.

I have 2 CFL of 23w Warm White and 27w Cool White for light and growing it at open terrace on 11th floor.

I am keeping this simple and sticking to basics as I like imitating close to natural condition without any complications.

My question is what should I do now to get the nute under control & also I am living in India so at evening there are lots of insect around the light, how should I control them?

You really don't need any nutrients when they are this young (seedling) just 5.7 - 5.8pH water in coco is needed until they get 3-4 sets of leaves. Once 3-4 sets of leaves, you can start a low EC/TDS/PPM of nutrients in the EC .5-.6 , 250-300ppm range.

Coco is good about not compacting like soil, you can grow in coco without perlite...perlite does help though with water retention & aeration of medium. It's important in coco to water everyday according to size of plant & container with drain holes/slots to 15%-20% run off.

On the insects you might want to get fly paper/ insect sticky cards, or just move it inside away from insects. :Namaste:

I have planted one more seed and this time in a small glass container with neutral coco peat (no nutes in coco peat just washed with bottled water) and after 6 days the tips started to turn yellow. Also on 4th day I added very little dry organic fertilizer on top of the soil and didn't water the plant at all. So the fertilizer had not entered the soil yet.