Heart Problems and cannabis users

OG Sinse

So, I've been smoking for around 6 years now after a 25 year break. (yes I'm old). I'm in relatively good health, not over weight, for my age I'm doing pretty good. (58 years old)

I've been having some weird heart "surges" like I'm out of breath for a minute. Not good ! So I did some reading and according to doctors, usage of cannabis greatly increases your chances of having heart failure. DAMMIT ! I also noticed that when I over do it, my heart races and I get chest pain.. Not a pleasant high at all when your worrying about a heart attack..I have an appointment with my doctor to get checked out, but for now I'm taking it very easy with the herbs.

Not to be a bummer, but I wonder if this is something that us older smokers should think about if we want to carry on. I love weed, but I love being alive more.

" The results of the first study, which looked at people with a median age of 54, found a 34% increase in the risk of heart failure in people who used marijuana daily compared with those who had never used it."

Full article here. There are many others as well saying the same thing.

Marijuana may be linked to heart problems — is it the smoke or THC that's harmful?

Though this is true for most, and im no doctor, but from what Ive read, it all depends on the genetics of the person and life style. Cannabis may not be the main cause of heart issues, but It can be a catalyst if we are not aware of what we are putting our bodies through.

Dosage is everything and finding the right cultivars is also something to consider. I would stay away from what we refer to as sativas and look for CBD dominant “indica” cultivars. These tend to be more calming and perfect for pain.

I would keep the dose low but more importantly inquire with a professional in person in order to get a personalized regimen going.

Best of luck!

P.S more studies are needed on the subject but I recommend talking to a pulmonologist.