Ducting Question for Cool Tube! Help!

celticseas

Hi,

I have a grow tent which is a 3x3x6.5 model. I've just ordered a 600 watt cool tube and need to get some ducting; challenge is what size to buy. My set up looks like this:

Fan — 5"
Port holes — 5"
Carbon filter — 4"
Cool Tube — 6"

Three different sizes I know, kind of sucks. I can't really afford to buy another filter or fan (unless I have too). I suppose my choices then would be to either cut a larger hole in the tent and go for 6" ducting, or use reducers and go 5". My question is would there be a big difference as far as ventilation between 5" flex and 6" flex? Which would you recommend? I am new to this and need to decide here pretty quickly, so any advice you could offer would be great.

Thank you,
Celticseas

Re: Ducting Question for Cool Tube !!Help!!

What I am currently using is one mixed flow inline fan, 162 CFM. I am sorry I neglected to mention that.

Re: Ducting Question for Cool Tube !!Help!!

I'm gonna have to get one or two of those cool tube fixtures. I'm running 500 watts MH in a 20" x 36" x 62" tent (2-250 watt open reflectors) and I had to add another fan because a 4" 170 cfm fan only got the tent down to 112 degrees (the tent is hidden inside a closet and insulated all around). The HPS bulbs I have aren't as hot. Those tubes would save me a little money in electricity and spare me having to hear a lot of noise. Good luck, celticseas.